Winning, and an odd bit of litter

Two things happened today. The first was a little odd, the second was just unexpected.

I walk to work, as many of you know, and this morning was ambling down Mansfield Road when I spotted something lying on the pavement. “Hang on,” I thought. “That’s a pregnancy test!” Now I couldn’t just walk on by – I had to know what it said. Apparently some people think that’s odd. But I just had loads of questions about it.

  • Who is she?
  • What does it say?
  • How did it get there? Did she drop it in a rush to tell someone else the result? Or did she fling it out the window in a rage?
  • If positive, is she happy or terrified or furious or just massively confused?
  • If negative, is she sad or relieved or a bit of both?

And they were just the first questions I thought of. I looked about, saw there were people coming, browsed casually in a shop window till they’d gone past and then had a good look. It had a pink handle and there was a line in the round window, not the square window. A trip to Boots beckoned – I had to know what it meant.

By the time I’d got to town I’d thought up all kinds of possible scenarios for her. I was quite nervous really. To Boots.

First Response do pink tipped tests. It looks like it was negative. This has, of course, only answered a couple of questions and clearly I’m doomed never to know the answers to the rest. I hope she isn’t too sad. Or too relieved for that matter. A bit of regret’s good for you.

So, daily distraction over! When I got home there were two parcels waiting for me. One was a replacement Mooncup after I melted my first one sterilising it (don’t ask). The other was a surprise! I’d entered a competition at Writers Cafe a few weeks ago – they’d given a number of prompts and asked for entries. And I am a winner! So it’s not the Booker but I feel just as excited by winning. This is the first thing I’ve entered in any kind of competitive judging respect so it’s a big deal for me.

In case you wanted to read the winning entry then you might like to visit the Writers Cafe website!

This entry was posted in General waffle, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

